Outsourcing – Should You Or Shouldn’t You?

Is outsourcing the right thing to do for you and your business?

I have met quite a few people out networking who want to outsource but are nervous as to how would it work, how do they find someone they can trust and what can they outsource to make the workload a bit easier?

You have to go with what you are comfortable with and how you like to work.

  • Don’t have space for an extra person in your office?
  • No budget to purchase an extra desk, chair and computer?
  • Quite happy communicating via emails, phone and Skype?

Then virtual outsourcing is the way to go! It also tends to be more cost effective.

Then of course, if you are like me, comes the next question…why delegate the work if you can do the job yourself?

I was a nightmare when I created Mushroom Soufflé in February 2009. I wouldn’t let anyone else anywhere near my business; I sucked it all in convinced no one can do it like I can.

I worked 7 days a week from 8am to 10pm for many months until I realised I was tired, uninspired, stuck in a rut and in desperate need of a life! Everyone around me from my business mentor and networking contacts to friends and family were telling me to take time out. TIME OUT???? But I don’t have time for that!!

Then it came to having been in business for a year…that was when I finally admitted I hadn’t done my own admin for the last 12 months, too busy networking and doing fee earning work. A bit like the builder who never finishes his own extension. So what to do?

First thing to go was my bookkeeping, I hate it, it bores me, it is not a productive use of my time and I’m not the expert. So it went to someone who loves figures, and as a result…I love her (OMG, pay someone to do something that isn’t fee generating? Now that was a scary move).

Next? My database. Those of you I network with will know how often I’ve preached about having your contacts, clients and suppliers in a database so you can easily contact them whenever you need to. Me? Oh no, all my business cards were in a box hidden away and in little piles around the office and in drawers (that’s how I know you have those too!!). I took a deep breath and passed them all over to one of my team, to create the database for me.

I also have an accountant and help with my PR. It feels great knowing I don’t have to do the tasks I’m not the expert at. There’s less stress all round.

Basically I turned it into quite a painful experience and learnt the hard way. To me outsourcing is the only way to go now.

What could you outsource? There is your admin and social media, so you could use a Virtual Assistant (we know a good one!). How about your bookkeeping? Using a dedicated bookkeeper to keep your accounts up to date would save those evening hours that you could be spending with your family instead. Then there is IT, marketing and PR – all of which may not be your strengths and cause you time and stress when you have to stop concentrating on your core business to work on them.

Give it some thought! Reclaim your life and some head space.

About Sarah Fletcher

Founder of Mushroom Soufflé - Social Media Magic. Public Speaker on Social Media Magic. Social Media Magic Training, Strategy and Management boosting your brand, productivity and effectiveness. Lover of street dance, food, all things purple, social media and life in general! Follow me on Twitter too @MushroomSouffle! www.mushroom-souffle.co.uk
This entry was posted in Business Support, Personal Assistant, PR, Time Management, Virtual Assistant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

