Is Facebook the Child of Satan?

I recently joined Toastmasters and two weeks ago I gave my 2nd 5 minute speech. The worst part for me is deciding on the topic and then the title of the speech and eventually I settled on this one. It was well received, let me know what you think…

The social media craze has swept the world, taken over many people’s lives and changed the online world forever. Even if you don’t use Facebook yourself, you probably have family and friends who do so it is worth knowing a bit more about it.

Created by a former Harvard student for students in 2004, Facebook’s popularity grew very quickly. In 2006 it opened up to everyone over the age of 13 and in 2008 it knocked MySpace off the No. 1 social media spot.

Today there are over 800 million users worldwide and over 27 million of those are in the UK. 350 million users currently access Facebook from their mobile phones…which bring me to my first bugbear…

Now, I don’t know about you but I look around and see people interacting with phones instead of people. I have friends who would rather chat with their Facebook friends than talk to me when I’m sat opposite them in the pub. I have to threaten one friend with holding her phone to ransom when we go out because otherwise she’d spend all night on it. It annoys me, it is rude, and, although you may tell me different…I’m convinced I’m not that boring!!!!

Then there is the sharing of far too much information. Your date of birth is one of your security questions that the bank asks…so here’s a good idea – let’s post it out there for everyone to have access to!

Or how about telling the world you are going on holiday? Sounds nice, makes everyone jealous, but you’ve also just told your friendly neighbourhood burglar that your house is going to be empty for two weeks – you may as well send them a personal invitation to help themselves!

People broadcast relationship breakups, the moments when they are in the depths of despair or the red mist of rage. They even carry out arguments on their Facebook walls for all to witness. Sometimes I think people forget that it is a public forum.

In fact it is the cause of many breakups and arguments, one wrong status update that someone reads too much into, or becoming friends with the wrong person and interacting too much…when are people going to learn it is the same as texting, you can’t read facial expressions or body language or hear their tone of voice… it is too easy to jump to conclusions.

And don’t get me started on couples who split up but then stay friends on FB, bad idea, complete chaos, and weeks of your friend saying to you… “what do you think he means by that status, do you think he likes someone else?”. Personally I think it has brought stalking to a whole new level.

My biggest worry about Facebook is the safety and privacy of personal information. There isn’t any. Keep this is mind and always check your privacy settings.

But it isn’t all bad! There are positives about it.

It makes it easier to keep in contact with friends and family who live far away. Some of whom are not good at writing letters, emailing or picking up the phone.

Some of my friends have gone travelling and it is nice to be able to keep up with the exciting adventures they are having and know they are safe.

Facebook is great for sharing good news and happy announcement such as engagements & births .

You can use the Events function to organise fundraising events and parties.

I use it to share my photos of nights out with friends, none of which you will be seeing. And also it means my mum can see the family ones I have taken – yes, she is on Facebook too!

I have joined groups about my interests in music, street dancing and horse riding and use them to find out new information.

It also supplies me with a service to provide, free marketing and interaction with customers for my business.

I’ll leave it to you to decide if the good outweighs the bad or vice versa. My advice is use it for fun, use it wisely, make the most of the good points and don’t fall into the traps that make it the root of all evil.

About Sarah Fletcher

Founder of Mushroom Soufflé - Social Media Magic. Public Speaker on Social Media Magic. Social Media Magic Training, Strategy and Management boosting your brand, productivity and effectiveness. Lover of street dance, food, all things purple, social media and life in general! Follow me on Twitter too @MushroomSouffle! www.mushroom-souffle.co.uk
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Facebook the Child of Satan?

  1. Ha ha! I know what you mean. I only ever once posted on Facebook that we were away. (It was a ‘guess where we’ are photo.) And yes, we were burgled! Probably a coincidence. But I’ve not done it again. I often take photos while I’m out that I’d love to post to Facebook, but I wait until I get home – by which time the moment’s gone and I’ve forgotten all about it! Seems a bit silly now to say that Nige and I spent our wedding anniversary (2 weeks ago) cycling along the river to Marlow and back! Took some great photos of Danesfield House and that lovely ex monastery in Medmenham. All seems a bit too late now!!

Leave a Reply

