Making it a great 2012

What a great start to 2012!

I am officially loving this year. Since I woke up on 1st January life and business have just got better and better.

But why? Because I have a really positive feeling about it and I’m willing to say yes to opportunities and make big changes and decisions.

Back in November I made the hard decision to leave my wonderful ladies of Athena Thame and move to the North Oxford group. My business was launched at Thame and has grown with them so it was a massive choice for me to make.

I was rather surprised, shocked and extremely excited to be asked by Penny Stephens (our networking ninja South Oxfordshire Regional Director) to chair the group for 2012. As I have never done this before I was a little nervous but then you realise your networking group is a good environment to push yourself out of your comfort zone without fear of criticism…even if most of them don’t really know who you are yet!

Wednesday 18th January came around and I was imagining the meeting being a catastrophe as stepping into the amazing shoes of Peronel Barnes (super artistic marketing and business development guru at Create & Consult), the chair of 2011. Then I came to the conclusion that if it went wrong there was nothing wrong with laughing, learning from it and moving forwards.

So how did it go?

Fantastically! The support and feedback from my group was fab, there was lots of laughter and more importantly, lots of business taking place. I really enjoyed it and roll on Wednesday 15th February. If you haven’t visited us yet you really should…before Penny realises I really shouldn’t be let loose in charge.

As if that wasn’t enough I was also honoured to be asked to be the Social Media speaker at the Athena Oxfordshire’s Springboard To Success Conference on Wednesday 25th January arranged by Penny and Claire Newell (our nifty networking North Oxfordshire Regional Director). It was an incredible day, I made new contacts, reconnected with existing and learnt so much from the other expert speakers all while raising my profile and establishing my credibility in my area of Social Media, what more can you ask for?

What opportunities are you taking advantage of this year?

The Athena Network South Oxfordshire Region

About Sarah Fletcher

Founder of Mushroom Soufflé - Social Media Magic. Public Speaker on Social Media Magic. Social Media Magic Training, Strategy and Management boosting your brand, productivity and effectiveness. Lover of street dance, food, all things purple, social media and life in general! Follow me on Twitter too @MushroomSouffle! www.mushroom-souffle.co.uk
This entry was posted in Networking, Social Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making it a great 2012

  1. Pingback: Making the most of your networking opportunities - Business Networking for Women South Oxfordshire Athena

  2. Peronel says:

    thank you for the mention: my shoes are a different style to yours: yours are elegant, pointy and with heels: mine are flat and wide. Fill your shoes with you and we enjoy what you are doing. Thank you for enjoying the year.

Leave a Reply

