The Feel Good Factor of Social Media…and my new flat!

I look back on the blogs I have written and there is quite a lot on what not to do on Social Media, what happens when it is used in the wrong way and how it can greatly affect others view of you. And then last Friday I had an experience that really reminded me why we all love it so much.

I completed on my new flat on Friday. Those of you who have an insight into my personal life know that nearly 4 years ago I had to sell up due to the collapse of my relationship (which is nothing new, unfortunately it happens to couples and families nearly every day). I didn’t have a big enough deposit or the financial backup to get another mortgage so I couldn’t find my way back on the property ladder straight away.

New flat keys!

“And I’m back on the property ladder! Keys to my new pad :D”

It’s taken me this long to turn it around and Friday afternoon I was on top of the world and needing to share it. So all I did was post on my personal Facebook profile a picture of the keys in my hand and “And I’m back on the property ladder! Keys to my new pad :D”

The reaction is still making me smile (and a little bit emotional). My friends know just what this means to me. 41 likes, 18 comments and quite a few text messages later of congratulations, smiley faces, general WHOOP WHOOPing and offers of help (I’m going to need it, there’s a lot of work to do!) my friends were sharing in my happiness.

THIS is what Social Media is about; relationships, sharing, positivity, communicating and supporting each other. Being connected and involved even if you can’t stay in contact in person as often as you would like.

What can you share today?

Who can you support?

What words of encouragement can you give to someone?

It could make all the difference 🙂

About Sarah Fletcher

Founder of Mushroom Soufflé - Social Media Magic. Public Speaker on Social Media Magic. Social Media Magic Training, Strategy and Management boosting your brand, productivity and effectiveness. Lover of street dance, food, all things purple, social media and life in general! Follow me on Twitter too @MushroomSouffle! www.mushroom-souffle.co.uk
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

