Yes I do Social Media for business, no I didn’t do it over Christmas!

RelaxIf you read my last blog you’ll know I advocate taking time off from social media (and business altogether) over family holidays. In light of that blog I thought I should walk my talk and do it. So I did.

No Twitter, no Facebook, no LinkedIn, no emails, and my iPad didn’t make it out of my suitcase (I was away seeing family). The most action my iPhone saw was acting as SatNav to get me between Bristol and Leicester.

Wooowwww I hear you say, really? Yes, really.

How did I manage it? Easy!

Except for my Christmas and New Years greetings, I didn’t schedule any tweets or posts between Christmas Eve and 5th January. Nothing that would generate responses or questions that I needed to reply to.

The biggest thing was turning off all notifications and I mean ALL. No beep or music, no message on the screen, no red dot on the App icon – nothing that tells you there is activity happening.

I put an out-of-office reply on the company emails saying when we would be back at work. People understand you are entitled to time off and will wait for you, hopefully they were too busy enjoying the holiday period too!

Then…don’t check your phone! I had more fun playing with my baby cousins, laughing at my sister in her Christmas Elf costume (I wish I could post a photo but she would kill me), trying to beat my mum and dad at Kerplunk and just being with my fam than I could ever have looking at Facebook or Twitter.

And you know what? It felt amazing. I totally switched off from business and got some much head space.

The result? I’m back with more energy  and passion, a couple of lightbulb moments and some cool ideas to implement. And the world didn’t come to an end because I stopped working 😉

About Sarah Fletcher

Founder of Mushroom Soufflé - Social Media Magic. Public Speaker on Social Media Magic. Social Media Magic Training, Strategy and Management boosting your brand, productivity and effectiveness. Lover of street dance, food, all things purple, social media and life in general! Follow me on Twitter too @MushroomSouffle! www.mushroom-souffle.co.uk
This entry was posted in Mushroom Soufflé - Social Media Magic, Social Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yes I do Social Media for business, no I didn’t do it over Christmas!

  1. Pingback: The Christmas Social Media Challenge – can you do it? | Mushroom Soufflé Blog

Leave a Reply

